My favourite community experience- WeMakeDevs & EddieHub

Communities make us human

Table of contents

No heading

No headings in the article.

I started contributing to open source a few months back. I had no idea where to start but I knew that Kunal Kushwaha knows a lot about open sources and his content could help me out.

So, I started watching all of his open-source content, I am pretty sure I have watched every single piece of content available. But, I still need some guidance. I needed someone to help me out personally. I was too scared of the large codebases everywhere.

That's when I came across Kunal talking about his community, WeMakeDevs. This was at the time when WeMakeDevs was called Community Classroom. The community looked quite inviting for beginners so I joined their discord server.

I just asked my queries about contributing to front-end applications and how I don't know where to start. Instantly, a community member responded that I should check out EddieHub and check out the Twitter feed of Eddie Jaoude. I was like, "Wow that's pretty quick and seems cool. Let's check it out!".

And to my surprise, on the same day, after asking some queries on EddieHub and Twitter, several open-source contributors responded. Amongst those responses, I found an intriguing name- "Hacktoberfest". Sounds cool. Let's check it out.

Turns out, it was the month of October and Hacktoberfest is known to be the best event for beginners to start contributing.

I joined the discord server of Hacktoberfest and saw a huge list of beginner-friendly git hub projects/repositories. I went through several such repositories until I found one where we can share cheat sheets about any tech stack.

At that time, I was regularly using Bootstrap for my side projects. I decided to create a Readme file that includes the basics of Bootstrap so that any newcomer can read that file and understand what the foundations are.

That was my first open-source contribution. It was all thanks to WeMakeDevs, EddieHub and Hacktoberfest.

For anyone who wants to contribute to open source and doesn't know how to, here are some links and resources that could help you out: